What is a Study Period?

UniSA has seven study periods as opposed to two traditional semesters. The academic year is split into two halves, with three study periods in each half, plus a study period during summer.
The main Study Periods are:

  • Study Period 2 (similar to 'Semester 1') 
  • Study Period 5 (similar to 'Semester 2')

These are when the majority of courses (subjects) are offered and generally the periods when you will be studying. However, it is possible to have courses in other Study Periods, particularly summer or winter school intensive courses.

For timing and key dates for each study period, please view the Academic Calendar.

Was this answer helpful?